SONG REVIEW: She & Him – Time After Time

Only a few days after She & Him released the first song off their next album Classics, they’ve released another one. Time After Time is a Frank Sinatra standard and you can listen to it right here:

With this song we have another taste of what the new album, a collection of covers, will be like. I can hardly contain my excitement, this is sure to be one of the releases of the year.

And if that wasn’t enough, She & Him were on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon last night, playing Stay Awhile, the first track to be released from Classics. Watch and listen to the performance here:

Screen Shot 2014-10-30 at 21.49.35


SINGLE REVIEW: She & Him – Stay Awhile

Back in August, She & Him announced plans for a new album. Since then we’ve had two teaser videos and now we get the first single, Stay Awhile. The new album, Classics, is a cover album and this song was originally written by Mike Hawker and Ivor Raymonde and featured on Dusty Springfield’s debut album Stay Awhile/I Only Want to Be with You in 1964.

The She & Him version is wonderful with reverb sprinkled all over the song thanks to M. Ward. It just sounds delicious. You can hear the song right here:

New She & Him albums are always something to look forward to and this is their 5th album release after three ‘Volume’ albums and a Christmas album. No doubt this will be just as good as all of the others and I can’t wait to hear it.

The track listing for new album Classics is as follows:

1. Stars Fell on Alabama
2. Oh No, Not My Baby 
3. It’s Not for Me to Say 
4. Stay Awhile
5. This Girl’s In Love With You
6. Time After Time
7. She
8. Teach Me Tonight 
9. It’s Always You  
10. Unchained Melody
11. I’ll Never Be Free
12. Would You Like to Take a Walk 
13. We’ll Meet Again

The album is out on the 2nd December.

She & Him: New Album Teaser Video

She & Him have just released a teaser video with brand new audio from their next album, expected later this year. It hasn’t been that long since their last album Volume 3 was released (May 2013) but I’m not complaining! We had a three year wait between Volume 2 & 3 (not including the Christmas album released in 2011) so a new album this soon after their previous effort is music to my ears!

You can watch the teaser video right here:

No details have been announced yet regarding the albums release date and track listing but if this 45 second teaser is anything to go by it should be another great album. It’ll also be the first release since the band moved to Columbia Records.