NEW ALBUM: Blur – The Magic Whip

This has certainly been a day to remember! Why? Because for the first time since 2003, Blur will release a new album. The album is called The Magic Whip and was recorded in Hong Kong last year. It’s been well known among Blur fans that the band had recorded in Hong Kong, but everything the band members said up to now suggested the recordings didn’t come to anything. But obviously not, because a new album is here!

A new track from the album, Go Out, is available to listen to now:

This is certainly a huge day for me and other Blur fans. I’ve been a huge fan for as long as I can remember and have wanted a new album since Think Tank came out in 2003. And finally, we have one!

Blur will also be headlining at BST Hyde Park in London, where songs from the new album will make their way into the setlist. This also means a full tour is also possible! The Hyde Park show is on Saturday the 20th June and tickets are available on Friday the 27th February.

The album is out on the 27th April and is available to pre-order NOW.



SINGLE REVIEW: She & Him – Stay Awhile

Back in August, She & Him announced plans for a new album. Since then we’ve had two teaser videos and now we get the first single, Stay Awhile. The new album, Classics, is a cover album and this song was originally written by Mike Hawker and Ivor Raymonde and featured on Dusty Springfield’s debut album Stay Awhile/I Only Want to Be with You in 1964.

The She & Him version is wonderful with reverb sprinkled all over the song thanks to M. Ward. It just sounds delicious. You can hear the song right here:

New She & Him albums are always something to look forward to and this is their 5th album release after three ‘Volume’ albums and a Christmas album. No doubt this will be just as good as all of the others and I can’t wait to hear it.

The track listing for new album Classics is as follows:

1. Stars Fell on Alabama
2. Oh No, Not My Baby 
3. It’s Not for Me to Say 
4. Stay Awhile
5. This Girl’s In Love With You
6. Time After Time
7. She
8. Teach Me Tonight 
9. It’s Always You  
10. Unchained Melody
11. I’ll Never Be Free
12. Would You Like to Take a Walk 
13. We’ll Meet Again

The album is out on the 2nd December.

SINGLE REVIEW: Foo Fighters – Something From Nothing

The Foo Fighters have just released the first track from their eagerly awaited new album Sonic Highways. It’s called Something From Nothing and you can listen to it right here:

The new album was recorded at a number of different studios, with Something From Nothing being recorded at the Electrical Audio studio in Chicago. It’s a fantastic rocker with that Foo Fighters sound and feel we’ve known and loved since 1995.

It’s been three years since their last album, Wasting Light, was released so this album can’t come soon enough. If this one track is anything to go by it’s going to be incredible!

The new album Sonic Highways is released on the 10th November.

DOWNLOAD NOW: Blues releases Live EP & Live EP2

Last year I released two Live EP’s containing explosive live tracks handpicked from a wealth of recordings from my 2012 shows. Both EP’s are still available to download now from my BandCamp page using Paypal. Each EP costs only £4 and as well as receiving the live tracks, each EP comes with a specially designed booklet with artwork and a number of photos.

As you’ll be able to hear from the track, my guitar playing influences include Freddie King, Eric Clapton, Chuck Berry, Buddy Guy and B.B. King to name just a few. As well as specially chosen covers the EP’s contain originals songs written by myself.

Live EP

Live EP2

When you purchase the EP I will add you to my mailing list where you’ll receive an extra live track that doesn’t feature on either EP! Being on the mailing list also enables you to get all the news first regarding gigs, releases, recordings sessions and more!

Thank you very much for your constant support!



SINGLE REVIEW: Beck – Blue Moon

Here we go, the first taste of Beck’s new album Morning Phase. Blue Moon is the first single which was released today and available to download immediately. I absolutely love it. It’s the first single connected to a new Beck album since 2008’s Modern Guilt. Six years is a long time to wait for any album but especially Beck. But my god was it worth the wait. Take a listen:

I can’t wait to hear the whole album. Thankfully we won’t have long to wait as Morning Phase is set for release on the 24th February and can currently be pre-ordered on iTunes.