2012: My Favourite Albums

M. Ward – A Wasteland Companion

This is by far my favourite album of the year. I bought it immediately when it was released back in April and listened to it a lot then. But over the last month I’ve had it on a continuous repeat because I finally get it. You have to be in a certain mood to understand the lyrics and songs. That’s the way I see it anyway. I loved it before and I love it even more now that I understand it fully. M. Ward is an unbelievably talented songwriter and musician and this is by far his best album to date.

Bob Dylan – Tempest

I bought this album just because I went on holiday to Croatia/Italy and it was my album of the holiday. Every time I listen to it, it reminds me of certain places I was in Croatia/Italy. It’s a wonderful album and shows that Bob Dylan is still just as relevant now as he was 40 years ago. His songwriting and lyrics are still the best out there. Many saw this album as his final album because of the name Tempest, but I hope it’s not. He’s still got plenty left in the tank.

Norah Jones – Little Broken Hearts

Another album I listened to a lot in Croatia/Italy, specifically driving from Rijeka, across the Slovenian border and into Trieste before catching the train to Venice. This album reminds of that journey. The songs are wonderful. Sure she may not strictly be the jazz pianist she was on her first couple of albums but now songwriting is her main concern and the songs are wonderful. Cracking album.

Leave a Reply

