Red Hot Chili Peppers – I’m With You

A lot has been said about the new album from the Red Hot Chili Peppers, most of the talk being about whether the band will still be a success without John Frusciante on guitar. The last three albums have been works of art and I have to say that I was a little hesitant when I heard he’d left the band. But after hearing just the first track off the album, you can tell the band are looking forward to what can be and it’s a bright future.

  1. Monarchy Of Roses
  2. Factory Of Faith
  3. Brendan’s Death Song
  4. Ethiopia
  5. Annie Wants A Baby
  6. Look Around
  7. The Adventures Of Rain Dance Maggie
  8. Did I Let You Know
  9. Goodbye Hooray
  10. Happiness Loves Company
  11. Police Station
  12. Even You Brutus?
  13. Meet Me At The Corner
  14. Dance, Dance, Dance

The first track ‘Monarchy Of Roses’ begins with the band just playing anything together before the real track comes in. And when it does, with the distorted vocals and rolling guitars it’s absolutely fantastic. The first thing you notice is how different the band sound but not in a bad way at all. It’s a great start to the new album. ‘Factory Of Faith’ begins with a funky bass riff which you’d expect from Flea and the funk continues throughout the entire track. ‘Brendan’s Death Song’ starts with an acoustic guitar and just builds and builds right up until the end.

‘Ethiopia’ has a fantastic time signature which on one hand makes it very hard to dance to but on the other really shows the band experimenting with their new sound and lineup. It’s a cracking track. ‘Annie Wants A Baby’ is another song which starts off with just bass, before drums then guitar and vocals make their way in. ‘Look Around’ is one of the tracks which really highlights the change in sound the band have gone through on the album. The funky bass is still present, but the guitar takes you back to the early 90’s albums that they released. Fantastic stuff! ‘The Adventures Of Rain Dance Maggie’ is the first single off the album and probably the one track which could have featured on any of the previous three albums with Frusciante.

‘Did I Let You Know’ features fantastic intricate guitar playing and trumpets which are a brand new addition to the sound of the band. It brings a very Spanish feel every time they come in. ‘Goodbye Hooray’ is full on guitar from start to finish and another track which takes you back two decades to the early 90’s. The bass solo section in the middle is followed by a very laid back calm section before all the guitars come back in force. ‘Happiness Loves Company’ begins with piano which is unusual for this band and is definitely the most pop song on the album, but that’s not a bad thing.

‘Police Station’ is the most laid back song on the album, almost like a ballad. Just like every song before, the vocals are fantastic and you can’t wait to hear what Kiedis comes out with next. It’s a beautiful track. ‘Even You Brutus?’ again features the piano which definitely brings out a new side to the band and the track leans on rap a little in the verses. ‘Meet Me At The Corner’ and ‘Dance, Dance, Dance’ are the final two tracks and the quality just keeps on going.

It’s a cracking album, definitely right up there with their best work. The band themselves have said this is a new beginning to the band which can only new albums will keep on coming. I hope so anyway. Not every band can get away with losing such a key member, but the Red Hot Chili Peppers have grown and grown because of this. You need this album.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s