Arctic Monkeys – Suck It And See

I must say I haven’t been a fan of the Arctic Monkeys in the past, but I quite like the matured sound on this record. From start to finish the album is full of fun melodies that’ll get you hitting the repeat button continuously. When this happens on the first track, you know you’re listening to something special.

And album cover has been hit by some controversy by both fans and the media. The media dislike the album title and the fans don’t like it’s simplistic design. But I think it’s good, I see it as the band asking you to focus on the music rather than be to fixated on the design of the cover. Music at the end of the day is all that matters.

  1. She’s Thunderstorms
  2. Black Treacle
  3. Brick By Brick
  4. The Hellcat Spangled Shalalala
  5. Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair
  6. Library Pictures
  7. All My Own Stunts
  8. Reckless Serenade
  9. Piledriver Waltz
  10. Love Is A Lazerquest
  11. Suck It And See
  12. That’s Where You’re Wrong

The opening track ‘She’s Thunderstorms’ begins with a fantastic single guitar intro before a second guitar comes in with the vocals. The first thing that strikes me with this album are the melody lines which are wonderfully smooth. ‘Black Treacle’ and ‘Brick By Brick’ are the two next track which feature great guitar riffs throughout. ‘Star Spangled Shalalala’ begins like a live track after a guitar has just been plugged in, and has a laid back groove throughout. The track again features very smooth vocals which is becoming a trend on this album for sure.

‘Don’t Sit Down ‘Cause I’ve Moved Your Chair’ is probably the hardest sounding track on the album with a heavy rock like riff and the solo towards the end is full of energy which then just cuts out. ‘Library Pictures’ begins with some studio talk which I absolutely love to hear on tracks. The track itself is the shortest on the record and the guitar is bathed with wonderful reverb and tremolo in the laid back section in the middle of the track. Fantastic tones. ‘All My Own Stunts’ is another track with great riffs and guitar tones from the start. The band recorded the album in America and that American sound really comes through on this track.

‘Reckless Serenade’ is a track most people know from the album, and one of the fan favourites so far. (You can read my review here). ‘Piledriver Waltz’ and ‘Love Is A Lazerquest’ are smooth sounding tracks you imagine the band playing live to calm the audiences down after the high energy singles they’ve released since the bands formation. ‘Suck It And See’ and ‘That’s Where You’re Wrong’ are the final two tracks on the album, and I can’t help but feel the band a getting a little tired. Don’t get me wrong, the tracks are still good, but I’m no longer thinking I’m listening to something special. But I guess a lot of albums start great and end on a low note. But the great albums continue to shine from start to finish.

As a whole I like the album. Hardcore fans will be thrilled with the album and fair enough, but the magic went for me when ‘Piledriver Waltz’ ended as the final three tracks sound quite similar. But that won’t stop me from listening to the other tracks on the album. Overall I’d give this album 4 stars out of 5.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s