Bob Dylan – Blood On The Tracks

I cannot begin to describe my love for this album. I love all of Dylan’s legendary 60’s albums but for me, this one eclipses all of them. Recorded in 1974 in studios located in New York and Minneapolis, ‘Blood In The Tracks’ began a new era for Dylan after releasing albums that received lukewarm reviews since ‘Nashville Skyline’ in 1969 and ‘New Morning’ in 1970. Five years later, Dylan released this album, and it’s absolutely sublime.

  1. Tangled Up In Blue
  2. Simple Twist Of Fate
  3. You’re A Big Girl Now
  4. Idiot Wind
  5. You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go
  6. Meet Me In The Morning
  7. Lily, Rosemary And The Jack Of Hearts
  8. If You See Her, Say Hello
  9. Shelter From The Storm
  10. Buckets Of Rain

For me personally, it contains three of my all time favourite Dylan songs. The first, ‘Simple Twist Of Fate’ has some of the best lyrics you’ll ever find in any song ever written. They’re unbelievable and they really hit the spot. It’s also a back to basics Dylan song featuring only an acoustic guitar. The second, ‘Meet Me In The Morning’ gets you hooked right from the start. The lyrics are fantastic (when aren’t they in a Dylan song?!), and the track is simply wonderful. The third is the final track, ‘Buckets Of Rain’. Just like ‘Simple Twist Of Fate’ Dylan just accompanies himself on acoustic guitar. Perfect.

With any other artist (especially today), the rest of the album would be full of filler tracks that sit nicely around the singles. Not with Dylan. Every single song is wonderful, and starts with ‘Tangled Up In Blue’ at the start of the album. Great melodies, drums, bass, multiple guitars, brilliant. ‘You’re A Big Girl Now’ and ‘Idiot Wind’ follow ‘Simple Twist Of Fate’ but are completely different as they both feature bands. We all know there are two Dylan’s. Simple acoustic, and full band. Both are excellent.

‘You’re Gonna Make Me Lonesome When You Go’ and ‘Shelter From The Storm’ are two more acoustic tracks and prove even more so that Dylan is a master at writing songs. He has a knack with words as many people know, and if you don’t, listen to these songs. ‘Lily, Rosemary And The Jack Of Hearts’ and ‘If You See Her, Say Hello’ add even more to the magnificence of the album. You know you’re listening to something special when every single track hits you right in the chest.

From start to finish, the album is untouchable. For many people it’s the album that gets them into Dylan, and it was with me. Before I head it I obviously knew select tracks from previous albums but I’d never delved into his work full on. But this album really opened the world of Dylan up for me.

It’s also a huge inspiration for when I write my own songs. Only last night after listening to it, I went on and wrote two sets of lyrics for two songs out of nowhere. They just flew out. Dylan is simply the best.


2 thoughts on “Bob Dylan – Blood On The Tracks

  1. Matthew March 10, 2012 / 8:50 pm

    I love this album also, although my favourite track is the last, Buckets of Rain, such a moving and poignant (to me at least) message.

    • tomcaswell March 11, 2012 / 3:43 am

      Agreed, it’s a wonderful song!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s